Ghana: President Akufo-Addo Releases List of Ministers for his Second Term

President Akufo-Addo has presented a list of Ministers and Regional Ministers-Designate to parliament for approval to begin his second term.

This list includes the names of some 46 persons expected to fill the ministerial positions and support the president to fulfill his mandate in the next four years.

Ahead of this official statement, the Head of Communications, at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin issued a communique indicating that the total number of Ministers to be appointed by President in his second term will not exceed 85.

This is in sharp contrast with the 126 ministerial appointments that characterised his first term in office.

Many of the Ministers who served in the first term, according to a release from the presidency Thursday, have been retained and in their various capacities.

Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta, Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyerematen and Information Minister, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah for instance maintain their various portfolios.

Others including Former Energy Minister, John Peter Amewu, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh and Former Procurement Minister, Adwoa Safo have been reshuffled.

For persons like Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, and Godfred Dame, they have been elevated from their Deputy positions, to take over the Education Ministry and Attorney General’s offices respectively. 

Meanwhile, these names have been, per the release, submitted to the speaker of Parliament, pending vetting and approval.

Please Share

Mustapha Sana

Mustapha is an accomplished, results-driven and enthusiastic content writer offering a solid background in freelance guest-writing, content creation as well as news and content research.

4 thoughts on “Ghana: President Akufo-Addo Releases List of Ministers for his Second Term

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *